Ta-Nehisi-Coates

I enjoy reading, but this book was not just reading for leisure; it was like a cultural awakening. When the text first began, I was confused as to the concept of “the black body.” As I read, it became clearer that “the black body” was a representation of African- American identity. As soon as the opportunity presented itself, I wanted to hear him speak, to hear him elaborate on this brilliant piece of work. I walked into Childers Hall, and into the second floor auditorium and sat down. The anticipation was taking me over. Soon he walked in, he was very calm and had a certain humbleness of himself. When he spoke about Howard, he spoke very highly, and of how many influential writers and thinkers attended our fine institution such as Toni Morrison and W.E.B Du Bois. He credit Howard University so much for his creation of this book. He discussed how he essentially lived in the library, he read so much and his experience was changed because of it. One thing I really liked was when he said he e “wouldn’t change being black for anything in the world.” That made me realize how much pride he had in his culture and his race. I thought that was so beautiful, because I see the same growth in myself. I always understood I was black, I always had pride; but now there is an overwhelming joy in the celebration of my own people. It is so important to be proud in our culture because like Coates said, “With all of the negative things imposed on us, we start to think of  ourselves negatively.” That’s so true, we often deem ourselves not worthy, but we are so much more than what we think. We are so much more intelligent, more intellectual. The last thing Coates said that struck me was “If white people knew what I knew, they would want to be black. “It was funny, but it was accurate. We com from struggle, but we always prevail. This book incorporates our tough world with such a rich culture, full of black kings and queens.

coates_cover

